1. Prof. A.A. Adeyekun Professor MBChB, FWACS, FICS
  2. Prof. T.T. Marchie Professor MBBS, FWACS
  3. Prof. A. O. Akhigbe Professor MBBS, FWACS
  4. Dr. B. O. Igbinedion Associate Professor MBBS, FWACS, FMCR
  5. Dr. F. O. Ehigiamusoe Associate Professor MBBS, FWACS
  6. Dr. E. O. Ighodaro Lecturer I MBBS, FWACS
  7. Dr. O. F. Adeyemi Lecturer I MBBS, FMCR, FWACS
  8. Dr. (Mrs) J. O. Igbinovia Lecturer I MBBS, FMCR.


  1. U. A. Ukpong (Mr.) Assistant Director B.Sc, Radiography


  1. P. Omoruyi (Mrs.) Principal Executive Officer WASC/NECO, 25/35/50 WPM, BSc
  2. F. Avrukpere (Mrs.) Higher Executive Officer WASC, BSc
  3. N. Ojo (Mrs.) Office Assistant O/L

Brief history of the department
The Department of Radiology was established as a service department in the University of Benin Teaching Hospital and started functioning on 1st February 1973 with three conventional radiographic examination rooms. The department also started with two consultant radiologists and eight radiographers. Over the years, the department has grown to consist of radio-diagnostic, radio-therapeutic and interventional units. The modalities for investigation now comprise of three conventional radiographic rooms, fluoroscopic examination rooms, digital radiographic room and multi-slice computerized axial tomographic examination room.

Staff strength
The staff strength has increased in all the cadres, with three professors, three associate professors, two lecturer I, and nineteen resident radiologists specialized in various areas of radio-diagnosis and therapy. The number of technical staff has also increased to thirteen radiographers and a medical physicist.

Academic description
The 500 level undergraduate medical students rotate through the department during the first semester for a total of eighteen weeks. The School of Medicine divides the students into groups. Presently there are 98 medical students divided into six groups. Each of the group will rotate to the department for a period of three weeks. This sub-specialty rotation in radiology was structured to equip medical graduates with attitude, knowledge and skills to provide adequate care to referrals in radiologic examinations. The principles of training in radio-diagnosis and therapy for medical students are as follows:
To introduce the students to the different modalities of investigation in radiology and radiotherapy.
To explain the physical basis of each modality briefly.
To educate the students on the importance, uses, indications, advantages and disadvantages of the different modalities.
To expose the students to the normal radiologic appearance of each modality and common pathological findings.
To introduce the students to the different radio-interventional and radio-therapeutic procedures available.
To encourage the students to pursue postgraduate specialization in radiology and radiotherapy.
The course outline – Radio-diagnosis and radiotherapy is as follows:
Participation in regular departmental review of radiologic examinations done, departmental seminars and presentations, departmental tutorials and demonstrations.
Observation of the different radiologic examinations and procedures done such as conventional radiography, digital radiography, mammography, fluoroscopy, contrast examinations, ultrasonography and computerized axial tomography.
Attendance of regular organised lectures based on the following systems:
Introduction to Radiology
Head and neck radiology.
Gastro-intestinal radiology
Thoracic radiology
Genito-urinary radiology
Breast imaging/mammography
Cardiovascular imaging
Obstetric and gynaecological radiology
Musculo-skeletal radiology
Radiation protection
Introduction to radiotherapy.
End of posting test/assessment.

The students’ assessment is based on 75% attendance in every aspect of the lectures, presentations, observations and demonstrations.

Clinical program
Lecturers in the department are appointable to consultant position in the University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Benin City. The appointed Honorary Consultants are involved in the training and supervision of the resident doctors during the postgraduate fellowship training in radiology and radiotherapy. They are also involved in regular clinical consultations in the hospital.

The department may be interested in starting postgraduate training in the different specialties and sub-specialties of radio-diagnosis, intervention and radio-therapy.
Heads of Department from Inception
Professor G. Hjelmare. (1973-1974)
Professor J. Bolin. (1975-1977)
Dr. E. Nwaka. (1977-1979)
Dr. J. C. Odita. (1980-1986)
Dr. J. U. V. Monu (1978-1990)
Dr. J. E. Aghahowa. (1990-1994)
Dr. L. B. O. Benka-Coker (1994-1995)
Dr. J. E. Aghahowa. (1995-1996)
Dr. V. O. Bekederemo. (1996-1998)
Dr. T. T. Marchie. (1998- 2002)
Dr. (Mrs.) A. O. Akhigbe. (2002-2004)
Dr. T. T. Marchie. (2004-2007)
Dr. (Mrs.) A. O. Akhigbe. (2007-2008)
Dr. A. A. Adeyekun (2008-2011)
Dr. O. U. Ogbeide (2011 – 2014)
Dr. B.O. Igbinedion (2014 – 2015)
Prof. A.A. Adeyekun (2015 – date)
RAD 505: Principles and practice of Radiology (2credits)
General introduction to radiology, physical basis of diagnostic radiology, x-ray tube, image and films. Hazards of radiation. Radiological diagnosis in child and maternal care. Radiology of common medical and surgical conditions. Radiology posting.

Posting Chart for Clinical Students